News and Notes from Major Athletics


The Majors were snubbed from the NCAA Division III playoffs after a regular season that saw them end with nine wins and only one loss. The team swept the Southern Athletic Association’s postseason awards. Junior running back Mike Barthelemy was named the conference’s Offensive Player of the Year. Barthelemy led the SAA in rushing yards with 1,400 and rushing touchdowns with 21. Junior defensive end Zach Bell won the SAA Defensive Player of the Year for the second season in a row, recording 12 sacks and 19 tackles for loss. Kicker Beau Brady, after finishing 10 of 13 on field goal attempts, earned Special Teams Player of the Year. Aaron Pelch earned the Coach of the Year award.

Barthelemy, Brady and offensive linemen David Carter and Kyle Skene were honored with All-SAA First Team Offense. Bell, along with fellow defensive lineman Jeff Milner and defensive backs Jonathan Moore and Alex Jackson, earned All-SAA First Team Defense.


The Lady Majors finished 17-16 overall and 7-7 in conference play. After a thrilling 4-set win in the conference tournament quarterfinals over Birmingham Southern (that saw them break an NCAA record for most points scored in a set), the season ended with a semifinal loss to the eventual champion Berry Vikings. Junior Caroline McKey was the lone Major named to the SAA All-Conference First Team. The outside hitter finished the season with 370 kills. Sophomore Lexus Andrews and Junior Taylor Zeigler were both named to All-Conference Honorable Mention.

Men’s Soccer

Nico Roth, a sophomore forward from Germany, was named the SAA’s Newcomer of the Year; he led the league in both points scored (24) and assists (8) on the season. Lukas Elmhammar and Roth were both named to the All-Conference First Team. Junior defender Chris Lawrence earned Second Team honors. The Majors finished with a 5-1-1 conference record, earning them the regular season championship.

Leave a Reply